543 Employees At New Straits Times , Berita Harian & Harian Metro To Lose Jobs In Retrenchment Exercise

A total of 543 employees at the News Straits Times Press (NSTP) will be affected by a retrenchment exercise in March next year, says the company’s journalists union.

According to NSTP National Union of Journalists (NUJ) chairman Farah Marshita Abdul Patah, the staff of New Straits Times (NST), Berita Harian and Harian Metro are among those who will have their employment ended on March 12,2020.

“The management will hand over the letters to the affected staff on Monday (Dec 16), ” she said in a statement.

Farah said that out of that number, 193 NUJ employees would be affected and this meant that there will be only 143 union employees remaining from a total of 336.

“This is not a small number. Many of us were sacrificed and have to sacrifice to ensure the continuity of the company.

“We are sympathetic to what has happened and have tried our best to fight for the plight of affected members but we have to accept the company’s decision, even though it is a bitter one, ” she said.

Farah added that she hoped the retrenchment exercise would proceed smoothly and that those affected would be paid compensation according to labour laws.

She also hoped that this would be the last retrenchment exercise by the company and that no other union members would have to face the same fate.

“This may be a heavy burden for all involved including those who have been retained, but it may be the best thing for everyone, ” she said, adding that they placed their trust in the company and management to restore NSTP to its glory days.

READ ALSO  A Message By The Johor Ruler To Malays: Stop Trying To Be Like Arabs

NSTP National Union of Journalists chairman Farah Marshita Abdul Patah said in a statement that these will include personnel from the New Straits Times, Berita Harian and Harian Metro.

She also told FMT that bureaus nationwide would be trimmed to five from the previous 14, with departments in the east coast (Pahang, Kelantan and Terengganu), north (Penang, Kedah, Ipoh and Perlis) and south (Johor, Negeri Sembilan and Melaka) to be merged.

The Shah Alam and Putrajaya bureaus will also be merged, while Sabah and Sarawak will have a bureau each.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fifteen + one =

Most Popular

To Top