Azmin Ali & 19 Other PKR Central Committee Members, Including MPs & Assemblymen Urged Anwar To Apologise - The Coverage

Azmin Ali & 19 Other PKR Central Committee Members, Including MPs & Assemblymen Urged Anwar To Apologise

PKR said it stands by its decision to sack central committee member Zakaria Abdul Hamid in the wake of a protest by party deputy president Mohamed Azmin Ali and 19 other top leaders.

PKR communications director Fahmi Fadzil said the decision to sack Zakaria, the Bera division chief, was made by the central committee on the recommendation of the disciplinary board.

“It was not a decision by the party president (Anwar Ibrahim). As such, the matter of an apology by the president does not arise,” he said when asked if PKR would reverse its decision to sack Zakaria and if Anwar would apologise over the issue.

This morning, Azmin and 19 other central committee members, including MPs and assemblymen, rejected Zakaria’s sacking, saying it was illegal and did not go through the due process.

In a memorandum to the disciplinary board, they also urged Anwar to apologise for the “hasty decision” which they said did not get the support of two-thirds of the central committee members.

PKR had said it sacked Zakaria and Pahang ordinary member Ismail Duhladi based on advice given by the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission after it had investigated allegations of corruption against them.

Zakaria said he had not been informed about any report lodged against him with the disciplinary board, and accused the party of having taken action without hearing his defence.

The sacking has led to a war of words between party leaders seen aligned to Azmin and Anwar.

Fahmi said the best forum for Zakaria in line with the party constitution was to file an appeal.

Source : FMT

Dr Daroyah Alwi
Amiruddin Shaari
Mohd Rashid Hasnon
Sivarasa Rasiah
Rahimah Majid
Elizabeth Wong
Saifuddin Abdullah
Radzlan Jalaluddin
Dr Mansor Othman
Kamaruddin Jaafar
Azmizam Zaman Huri
Gan Pei Nei
Hee Loy Sian
R. Santhara Kumar

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top