10 Reasons Why The Coverage Predicts Belgium Will Win FIFA World Cup 2018 In Rusia - The Coverage

10 Reasons Why The Coverage Predicts Belgium Will Win FIFA World Cup 2018 In Rusia

1. Be seeded

Since the World Cup expanded to 32 teams in 1998, all of the eventual champions have been seeded. Indeed, the last non-seeded winners were in 1986, when Argentina were carried to the trophy by Diego Maradona and his ‘hand of God’. In one move, we have removed 24 teams in the competition and are left with eight.

2.Don’t be the hosts

Russia benefit from a 44-year tradition of the host nation being seeded. With a world ranking of 66, they would not be one of the top eights if they were not staging the party.

Hosting the World Cup, though, is not the route to success it once was. The first 11 editions of the tournament, from 1930 to 1978, produced five home winners. Since then, the past nine tournaments have seen the hosts crowned champions only once – France in 1998.

While it was never likely that the United States, Japan, South Korea or South Africa were going to win the World Cup, Italy in 1990, Germany in 2006 and Brazil four years ago were not helped by being the host nation.

3.Keep it tight

In the 32-team era, none of the five champions have conceded more than four goals over their seven games.

Looking at our seven remaining sides, Poland had by far the leakiest defence during qualifying, conceding 1.4 goals per game.

Germany and Portugal conceded 0.4 per game, Belgium and France 0.6, Brazil 0.61 and Argentina 0.88.

4. Be from Europe

World Cup winners have only ever come from Europe and South America. Until recently, European teams did not travel well, but Spain’s success in South Africa and Germany’s triumph in Brazil bucked the trend.

European tournaments, though, almost always produce home winners. Of the 10 competitions to be hosted by countries from Europe, only one has been won by an outsider, and you have to go all the way back to 1958 for Brazil’s win in Sweden.

MUST READ  Haziq Aziz Confesses It Was Him Having Sex With Azmin Ali In Four Points Sheraton Hotel - Has Anwar Checkmated Mahathir?

5. Have the best goalkeeper

You might think goalscorers win World Cups, but only twice since 1982 have the champions provided the winner of the Golden Boot – Brazil’s Ronaldo in 2002 and David Villa of Spain involved in a four-way tie in 2010.

World Cup winners are actually more accurately defined by their goalkeeper, with four of the past five Golden Glove awards for the best keeper in the tournament going to the number one of the team that lifts the trophy.

Of the remaining four teams, it’s not hard to imagine any of Manuel Neuer (Germany), Hugo Lloris (France) or Thibaut Courtois (Belgium) being named the best goalkeeper this time around. It seems more of a stretch that Portugal’s Rui Patricio will walk away with the Golden Glove.

6. Have the experience

World Cup-winning squads are steadily getting more experienced, a trend that began when the finals expanded to 32 teams in 1998.

On that occasion, champions France had a squad that averaged 22.77 caps per player. Four years ago, Germany boasted 42.21 each. In between, there was a gradual rise – Brazil averaged 28.04 in 2002, Italy 32.91 in 2006 and Spain 38.30 in 2010.

When our three remaining teams named their final squads, France’s average caps was down at 24.56, while Germany’s was at 43.26 and Belgium’s 45.13.

7. Don’t be the defending champions

The World Cup is hard to defend. Not since Brazil won back-to-back tournaments in 1958 and 1962 has a team lifted the trophy twice in a row.

In fact, since that Brazil double, the 13 defending champions have only got past the quarter-finals on two occasions – Argentina in 1990 and Brazil in 1998, though Brazil did finish fourth in 1974 when the format was two group stages, then a final. In the past four tournaments, the defending champions have been eliminated in the group stage on three occasions.

MUST READ  Tun M Feud With M’sia Royalty Has Lasted More Than 35 Years - Wages War On The Reputation & Influence of The Royal Households

Germany have an excellent recent World Cup pedigree. In the past nine tournaments – including three as West Germany – they have won twice, reached three more finals and finished third on two more occasions.

However, when it comes to winning it again in Russia, history is against them.

So, there you have it. Belgium are going to win the World Cup. Unless someone else does. Which is possible….

8. Golden Generations

Belgium, whose ‘Golden Generation’ – including players like Kevind De Bruyne, Eden Hazard and Romelu Lukaku – has now reached a level of maturity that should see them mount a serious challenge.

The Belgian diaspora in Europe has slowly seen its influence increase. Fellow red devils, Hazard, De Bruyne and Lukaku have flourished, so have expectations around their squad. Thibaut Courtois is no longer a fresh green stalk – he’s won league titles in London & Madrid. Mousa Dembele, Jan Vertonghen and Toby Alderweireld, Spurs’ stalwarts, push harder year-on-year to join that elite list. Radja Nainggolan, Alex Witsel, Thomas Meunier have shown that they belong to Europe’s big stage.

That’s six of Belgium’s key players, but take a look at some of the other major names Martinez can call on: Mousa Dembélé, Michy Batshuayi, Dries Mertens, Thomas Meunier and Thibaut Courtois.

9. Deadly Attacking Force 

Belgium have one of the strongest teams in the competition and many of them are coming into the primes of their careers. The time to step up is now but there are two concerning aspects to the side. First there is a serious reliance on Romelu Lukaku to score goals. If he doesn’t, then they may struggle.

The other aspect is more serious and it regards the manager Roberto Martinez. Arguably their best player, Kevin De Bruyne has publicly criticised the tactics of the coach before and if your best player is not on board with what the coach wants to achieve, then this could cause fissures throughout the side.

MUST READ  577 In Klang Valley Areas Will Be Facing Water Disruption From April 24-27

Nonetheless, as mentioned above, the talent throughout the side is world class. With Thibaut Courtois, Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen, and Vincent Kompany in defence, they are strong in that department. Moving into the midfield you of course have De Bruyne, Mousa Dembele, and Axel Witsel.

In the attacking department there is Lukaku, Eden Hazard, Dries Mertens and Michy Batshuayi. With all these names competing for the side, Belgium will be tough to beat, but the side is pretty inexperienced at getting to the business end of big tournaments.

In De Bruyne and Hazard he has two of Europe’s best playmakers. De Bruyne has 11 goals and 19 assists in all competitions in the 2017/18 season, while Hazard has an impressive 15 and 11.

Lukaku is a massive goal threat, and, at 24, is already Belgium’s all-time record goal scorer.

10. World No 1 In 2015

Belgium has only recently undergone a resurrection that sees the nation currently sitting in fifth in FIFA’s world ranking. After reaching the round of 16 in the 2002 FIFA World Cup (where it lost to eventual winner Brazil, partially thanks to a controversially disallowed goal), Belgium failed to qualify for the next two tournaments.

It resurfaced at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil under the stewardship of coach Marc Wilmots, but lost in the quarterfinals to Argentina. Still, the team showed a drastic improvement, and was even ranked as No. 1 in the world in 2015.

FIFA World Cup 2018 Schedule In Malaysia Time, Live TV Channel Info , Schedule , Fixtures And Matches

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top