State Gov't Motion Rejected : PKR Defeated Over New Melaka Senator - Team Azmin Defeated Team Anwar - The Coverage

State Gov’t Motion Rejected : PKR Defeated Over New Melaka Senator – Team Azmin Defeated Team Anwar

The absence of two assemblymen from PKR caused a motion proposing Melaka PKR chairman Halim Bachik as a senator to be defeated in the state assembly today.

All 13 Barisan Nasional assemblymen opposed the motion, while 12 Pakatan Harapan assemblymen voted in favour. Two assemblymen from PKR were not in the hall when the vote was taken – Ginie Lim Siew Lin (Machap Jaya) and Muhamad Jailani Khamis (Rembia).

Another Pakatan Harapan assemblyman, G. Saminathan (DAP-Gadek), had been excused from attending the sitting after he was charged with supporting LTTE.

The motion to appoint Halim Bachik as the new senator was tabled by Chief Minister Adly Zahari and supported by Damian Yeo Shen Li (DAP-Duyong) and Gue Teck (PKR-Klebang). Opposition leader Idris Haron (BN-Sungai Udang) and Sulaiman Md Ali (BN-Lendu) opposed the motion.

Adly told reporters later that Pakatan Harapan lost the vote when the two PKR assemblymen decided to leave the hall.

“We will gather information from the other assemblymen as well as an explanation from the two assemblymen who left the hall,” he said.

Source : FMT

The report by China Press said the Pakatan Harapan-led state government barely had the necessary numbers to push through a motion to nominate Malacca PKR chief Halim Bachik as a senator.

However, the motion was defeated by one vote after Ginie Lim (PKR-Machap Jaya) and Muhammad Jailani Khamis (PKR-Rembia) left the assembly chambers just prior to voting.

“This is clearly due to factional infighting in PKR. Halim is seen to be aligned to PKR president Anwar Ibrahim, whereas Lim and Jailani are linked to deputy president Azmin Ali.

“During the motion to nominate a senator, Lim and Jailani left the state assembly chambers just prior to voting, allowing the motion to be rejected with 12 votes in favour and 13 votes against,” the report said.

Harapan has 15 assemblypersons in the 28-member assembly. The only other Harapan representative absent was G Saminathan (DAP-Gadek), who is being detained pending trial over his alleged links to the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE).

The China Press report added that once the motion was rejected, opposition leader Idris Haron (Umno-Sungai Udang) proposed that the house nominates Malacca Umno chief Ab Rauf Yusoh as senator and asked for the matter to be put to a vote immediately.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top